Flanderhof Manor - Daia Sibiu
Flanderhof Manor House is located 6 km from the Sibiu’s Ring road and 12 km from the town center in the picturesque village of Thalheim / Daia, Judet Sibiu, in the hart of Transylvania (Ro).
This beautiful fortified house was in the 14th century the seat of the Count Andreas of Thalheim (1339), The tower bears the coat of Arms of Matthias Huszar de Brenhida and the date 1594. Huszar and his troops were involved in the 15 year Hungarian-Ottoman Wars, when the Tatar troops of Khan Ghazi Giraly joined the Ottomans.
In the XXth century it belonged to the Bordon family. It was confiscated by the Communist regime and in 1996 successfully revindicated by the descendants of the family. Jan DE MAERE, the actual owner bought the propriety in 1998 and restored it thoroughly. It is now one of his private homes and also a guest house, with 20 well-equipped guest-rooms, all with free Wifi, bathroom and toilet. There are inside and outside diner possibilities, an outside barbecue, nice gardens and and a 22 m long wooden covered bridge over a brach of the Hartibaci river linking the property to the orchard. There, from next Eastern on, four 200 year-old former Maramures wooden houses taken from Desești and Ieud and rebuild with all modern confort (2-3 bedrooms each) in the orchard, will be for rent as holiday houses. Each of these is situated in an adapted green scenery with lots of flowers.
In 2000, Count Michael de Villegas de Clercamp designed the gardens, adorned with many rare trees and more then 280 different plants (some delivered by Baron Zoltan Ugron’s plantations in Tirgu Mures), many different roses (from Rosafruct, Jeno Szeppessy, Unirea AB) and other flowers, all selected by the Countess Brigitte de Villenfagne de Sorinnes, former botanical assistant to Montague Russel Page (1906-1985). The present owner has a major interest in the arts. He supports a number of famous Romanian artists such as Stefan Câltia, Paul Neagu, Horia Bernea, Ioan Sbirciu, Andras Szabo, Alexandru Cinean, Andras, Tara von Neudorf and many others. Their works decorate the rooms inside Flanderhof. Jan DE MAERE brought many antique pieces of furniture and decoration, some dating from the late 15th until the 19th century from his family’s estate in Flanders. Splendid oak woodwork, furniture and parquet floors, in white oak in the Flemish Tradition, were created by Paul Jonet in Sâliste before 2006. Univ.-Professor Dr. Dr. h. c. Jan DE MAERE is also a renowned historien, a Ph.D. in Art History and in Neuroscience. he has a lively interest in science, literature , music and the arts.
In the Orangerie (100m2),the Loggia (100m2), the only new architectural additions replacing the old barn, and the Conference- and Music-rooms, you are inited to organise your parties, meetings, cultural activities and events for more than 100 people. From here you can explore the wonderful and quiet countryside and rich historical buildings of the Harbachthal (Hârtibaciu river), such as Saxon fortified churches dating from the XII-XIIIth centuries. The Fagaras mountains and woods, situated at 20 km from Flanderhof, are visible from the belvedere on the tower. The gardens have abundant flowers and rare botanic specimen. Outside the village, great and unspoiled nature invites to walking, biking and on- and off-road motorbiking in these beautiful surroundings.